DownsideUpDesign

Musings of an Aussie design strategist gone North

Awesome(ly) Small Target Market Alert: Japanese Rockers

Take a look at this film clip and tell me that a design project based around these guys wouldn’t be absurd fun.

They’re a little bit macho, a little bit fem, a little bit psycho and yet oddly controlled. Overlay this on Japanese car culture and I have a feeling that there’s creative space for some suitably bonkers vehicles.

Filed under: Car, Car Culture, Concept, Design, Design Strategy, Music, Things I like, , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Ben says:

    zOMG! Have you not heard of Bosozuko or Garuchan?

  2. drewpasmith says:

    Oh, my dear Ben, I certainly have! I was just wondering out loud how you might design a new car based around these guys.

    Totally in love with the classic car tribes in Japan. In fact I’d love to do a photo essay on them if I ever get to the land of the rising sun.

  3. Ben says:

    Sorry, I should have guessed you’d be on top of that. 🙂

    Do these guys even want a new car? They’ve rejected contemporary, normal, clothing, haircuts and music, why would they drop five figures on a massive consumer durable?

    I think you’d have to be really, really good to avoid a pastiche of retro forms.

    You’re in a Pop Will Eat Itself situation where these guys are riffing on a departed (sub) culture to make a new (sub) culture and then using that new culture as a riff for a new object. It’d be so easy to end up like a Monkeys tribute band doing a Beatles cover.

    This is not to say I think it’s a bad idea; I think it’s awesome (and I love the idea of the Monkeys covering the Beatles).

Leave a Reply

Legal-schmegal…

© Andrew Philip Artois Smith and DownsideUpDesign, 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Andrew/Drew Smith and DownsideUpDesign with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
